Radiohead Release Unused Themes for The Hateful Eight, Star Wars VII, and Others

thom yorke

It has been roughly five years since Radiohead released their last full-length record, The King of Limbs. It came as a surprise then when the critically-beloved band released their version of recent James Bond theme, “Spectre.” The song, which you can hear below, was a Christmas present of sorts from the band, who say they were originally asked to write the theme to the movie. Instead of this reverb-laden, shimmering ballad, MGM opted to go with Sam Smith’s “Writing’s On The Wall” for the 2015, Daniel Craig-starring Spectre. “Writing’s On The Wall” also recently received the Golden Globe for being the Best Original Song of 2015 despite being neither the best, nor particularly original.

This week, Radiohead followed up their previously-unreleased Spectre theme with other previously-unreleased movie themes. Included are unused themes for Quentin Tarantino’s The Hateful Eight, J.J. Abram’s Star Wars: The Force Awakens, and the upcoming Batman V Superman: The Dawn of Justice. Upon listening to the new songs, it is hard to understand why film studios would opt for Ennio Morricone’s score of The Hateful Eight given Radiohead’s track, which emulates the rugged wild American west, as does much of their previous albums. Warner Bros. studio scrapped plans to have Radiohead score the upcoming Man of Steel sequel after hearing early demos of Radiohead’s sitar-laden soundtrack. The band plans to release an album of themes from the remaining James Bond movies, including “Thunderball”, “Dr. No”, and “Goldeneye” later this year.