Jessy Lanza – “Kathy Lee” Video

Hyperdub has announced the debut release from Canadian artist Jessy Lanza. The album Pull My Hair Back is set for an October 9th release. Watch her new video for “Kathy Lee” above.

Pull My Hair Back was co-written and co-produced with Jeremy Greenspan from Junior Boys and mastered by Bob Weston of Shellac.

Jessy Lanza

The album is a 2013 flagship for what electronic pop could sound like, stripped of bloated, behaviorist impulses that treat listeners like lab rats. It’s graceful and erotic without the gratuitous close ups, icey and sensual, sweet without rotting your teeth, emotional but with enough blue glow to pull your heart strings. Jessy’s voice flutters through the synths seductively, insistent without the over-singing and grating choruses that plague so much contemporary pop. Jessy has a background as a singer and skilled piano scholar, and the duo share a mutual love of collecting the old hardware synths and drum machines that grace this collection of songs. Transecting R&B, house, disco and 80s studio rock, the production is immaculate, reminiscent of early Junior Boys, treading that fine line between cold futurism and the R&B the duo are infatuated with.

Pull My Hair Back is bittersweet, blue and soulful, shot through with driving, fizzling arpeggios. It balances cold, machine-tooled precision with Jessy’s beguiling, elevated vocals and her more intuitive, impressionistic keyboard playing. It’s lean and deadly, and it leaves you craving more.

Jessy Lanza Pull My Hair Back

01. Giddy
02. 5785021
03. Kathy Lee
04. Fuck Diamond
05. Keep Moving
06. Against the Wall
07. Pull My Hair Back
08. As If
09. Strange Emotion

About NK

I founded Earbuddy to turn you onto excellent music and give fair, unbiased, and honest music reviews. Hit me up on Twitter @earbuddy if you want to chat about music, disagree with what I've written here, or talk about anything else.

Leave a Reply