Yeah Yeah Yeahs Perform New Songs at SXSW

Watch Yeah Yeah Yeahs rock out at SXSW.

Yeah Yeah Yeahs performed at SXSW last night, performing several new songs from their forthcoming album Mosquito. The new album is due April 16th via Interscope. While we’ve only got a taste of “Sacrilege” so far, now you can watch the band perform that song, the title track, “Under the Earth”, and “Subway” from the new album. Just skip through a lot of the banter at the beginning of the video to get to the good stuff — around the 6:26 mark.

01 Sacrilege
02 Subway
03 Mosquito
04 Under the Earth
05 Slave
06 These Paths
07 Area 52
08 Buried Alive [ft. Dr. Octagon]
09 Always
10 Despair
11 Wedding Song

Karen O. on the new album:

“We would love for this music to make our fans feeeeel something, for it to stir some shit up inside of them, whatever that may be. SO much feeling went into this record, it was the rope ladder thrown down into the ditch for us to climb up and dust ourselves off. I hope others can climb up it too; we’re excited to share the good vibes.”

“We took a more playful, LO-FI approach to songwriting. Much of the music was demoed in our little basement studio in Manhattan with drum machines, a shitty sample keyboard and tons of delay – which we called the soup. I think this record has more moodier and tripped-out songs than you’ve ever heard from us,” she continues. “You might catch some roots reggae and minimalist psychedelia influences in there.”

About NK

I founded Earbuddy to turn you onto excellent music and give fair, unbiased, and honest music reviews. Hit me up on Twitter @earbuddy if you want to chat about music, disagree with what I've written here, or talk about anything else.

Leave a Reply