Preview: The Shins – Port of Morrow

The Shins have announced a new album to the surprise of many people (I’m being sarcastic). The new album is called Port of Morrow in case you didn’t read the title of this post, and it will be out in March 2012 through James Mercer’s own Aural Apothecary label and Columbia Records.

Port of Morrow was recorded in Los Angeles and Portland over the course of 2011 with Mercer as usual handling all songwriting duties, lead vocals and the majority of instrumentation. The record was produced by Greg Kurstin and mixed by Rich Costey. The attached cover art was created by Jacob Escobedo.

The album’s track listing is as follows:
1. The Rifle’s Spiral
2. Simple Song
3. It’s Only Life
4. No Way Down
5. September
6. Bait and Switch
7. Fall of ’82
8. For A Fool
9. 40 Mark Strasse
10. Port of Morrow

At this time no singles have been released, nor the exact release date and tour dates for the band. However, a tour is coming and will feature James Mercer leading a Shins lineup of Yuuki Matthews (bass), Jessica Dobson (guitar), Richard Swift (keyboards) and Joe Plummer (drums).

About NK

I founded Earbuddy to turn you onto excellent music and give fair, unbiased, and honest music reviews. Hit me up on Twitter @earbuddy if you want to chat about music, disagree with what I’ve written here, or talk about anything else.